Skip to content
March 7, 2014 / notxkcd

not xkcd 69 – It is a small world after all

nxkcd69a
nxkcd69b
nxkcd69c
nxkcd69d
nxkcd69e

Transcript below:

Dan: Hey, guess who I ran into today. Natashaaaaaaa.
Bob: You mean Natasha, right?
Dan: Yup, your ex sweetie pie ex cuddly wuddly, ex…
Bob: My ex-girlfriend. I get it.
Bob: So what? I don’t care.
Dan: Small world though, huh?
Bob: Our world is a lot smaller than most people think.
Bob: Consider that the circumference of the Earth is about 24,000 miles. Let’s say it takes between 30 to 40 minutes to walk a mile. It would take you, best case, 720,000 minutes, or 12,000 hours, or about 500 days to walk the circumference of our world. Not so small now, is it?
Dan: No.
Bob: Consider the circumference of the Sun. It’s over 2,500,000 miles. If you could walk it, it would take, best case, 75,000,000 minutes. Or 1,250,000 hours. Or 52,083 days. Or 143 years to complete. Note also that a man, in the US, that reaches 65 today, can expect to live, on average until 84. So you’d need about 1.7 lifetimes. That’s assuming you started walking from the day you were born, which is impossible to begin with. Makes our world pretty small in comparison, huh?
Dan: I get it. Size is relative.
Bob: So, did Natasha ask about me?
Dan: I thought you didn’t care.
Bob: I know, but life is short. Consider the average lifespan of a Mayfly…
Dan: Shut. The. Fuck. Up.

